30 Comments

Slimming World Diet

Another day, another diet! I tried to be strong, eat sensibly and be good, but the week of all the cheese undid that. I haven’t put any weight back on, but it’s the same as it was a few weeks ago. I still have 16lbs to lose.

I’ve realised I need some structure, but I don’t fancy weighing and calorie counting everything that passes my lips. I didn’t want to do the Dukan again, as I do like to be able to have some carbs. Then I heard about the Slimming World Extra Easy Plan. I didn’t fancy joining a group, I’m not one for public weigh-ins and I don’t really have that much to lose. So I did some research online, bought the food directory, and today I am getting on with it.IMG-20130211-01418

There are a number of free foods (lean meat, fish, fruit, vegetables, salad, grains and pasta), as well as a fibre and calcium allowance. Other foods have a “syn” value – foods with fat or sugar – the more calorie laden the bigger the syn, and you have 5-15 syns a day.

I had a glass of OJ (5 syns), cup of coffee with sweeteners and milk, 2 weetabix with milk out of my healthy extras allowance, as well as a babybel this afternoon. Lunch was smoked salmon (free) with a slice of seeded bread (6 syns). For dinner I’m getting my mincer out and making turkey burgers from scratch (0.5 syn) with homemade wedges (free) and stuffed mushrooms (free)!

So expect to see these and plenty of other syn free and low syn recipes in the coming weeks!

30 comments on “Slimming World Diet

  1. Have you tried Weight Watchers? I found that successful in my twenties and thirties.

  2. […] on Monday I started my Slimming World diet, and this was the first dinner I made. The ingredients are totally syn free.  I used 7 sprays of […]

  3. […] is a really simple yet tasty side for anyone on the Slimming World diet. It takes literally seconds to prepare and only 15 minutes to cook. I served these with my Turkey […]

  4. […] cals and 5g fat. It was super tasty, filling, and looks quite classy too! If you’re doing the Slimming World diet the only syn is from the parma ham, which is only about ¾ syn per slice (1.5 syns per […]

  5. […] really pleased with this and hoping it continues at a nice steady pace. I’m finding the Slimming World Extra Easy diet really easy and think even after I reach my target weight I’ll still stick to it for a […]

  6. […] week I decided to adapt my ragu recipe for the Slimming World Extra Easy diet plan. It wasn’t too difficult, I just had to keep an eye on how much tomato puree I was […]

  7. […] a Nando’s marinade would be perfect for them. The sauces and marinades do have a syn value on Slimming World but it’s not much so I just have to keep an eye on how much I […]

  8. […] delicious low syn but high flavour dish for my Slimming World diet, and this time I thought I’d get the slow cooker out. I love pork and even lean pork is […]

  9. […] love lentil soup, and often have a can of Heinz lentil soup for my lunch. Sadly on the Slimming World Extra Easy diet a can of soup equals 9 syns! As I have only 15 a day this would be a bit of a waste, so I […]

  10. […] tasty low-syn side dish recipe from my Slimming World Diet. Great with a roast or steak. I made a big batch of this and served the second half cold the next […]

  11. […] tasty low-syn slow cooker recipe for my Slimming World Diet at just 1 syn per serving. This recipe was a slight variation of my Slow Cooker Chipotle Pork […]

  12. […] the lovely flavours, then just pop into the oven at night and have a delicious syn free meal on Slimming World Extra Easy in under 45 mins. Great served with rice or a baked potato and […]

  13. […] tasty syn free recipe for my Slimming World Extra Easy diet, which like my Syn Free Tandoori Chicken Thighs will hopefully stop you heading for the […]

  14. […] right, a beef stew that is completely syn free on the Slimming World diet! This is a fantastic one-pot dish too, with lots of vegetables included in the recipe. This […]

  15. […] This definitely isn’t an authentic curry, but very much a lazy cheat’s version. On the plus side it’s really quick to prepare, very tasty and completely syn free on Slimming World Extra Easy! […]

  16. […] tasty yet thrifty syn free recipe for the Slimming World Extra Easy diet. This would be a lovely quick summery dish served with salad, but with the gloomy […]

  17. […] is free on the Slimming World Extra Easy diet, but with the restrictions on the amount of cheese and olive oil you can eat for free, and […]

  18. […] thinking even that probably wasn’t great for my post-Christmas health kick. Then I started Slimming World and assumed there was no way I could incorporate chips cooked in oil into my new diet without […]

  19. […] is a really quick and easy syn free Slimming World Extra Easy to make. It’s great eaten hot or cold and goes really well served with rice and a […]

  20. […] is super quick syn free meal for the Slimming World Extra Easy diet. It might be a simple recipe but it turned out to be very […]

  21. […] lunch, it’s a really easy hot lunch to make, just pop open a can and heat it up, but on the Slimming World Diet canned soups come with syns, and a lot more than you’d think! They’re also high in […]

  22. […] is super quick side to make for the Slimming World Extra Easy diet. There is a slight caveat to the syn free, in that you will have to take your cheese from your […]

  23. […] is another super quick and easy to prepare syn free recipe for the Slimming World Extra Easy diet. Great served with baked potato and vegetables or […]

  24. […] Worry not though, I’ve continued cooking. I’ve also been (mostly) sticking to my diet, Slimming World Extra Easy. Any diet that allows you to have steak definitely gets a big tick from me, you do need to remove […]

  25. […] Slimming World Extra Easy recipe from me! This one is totally syn free, and full of flavour, especially if you like your food […]

  26. […] do like leg. Leg is a lovely lean cut, and with the fat removed before cooking can be eaten on the Slimming World Extra Easy Diet as syn […]

  27. […] exactly exciting blog material. Even the diet is suffering a bit, I’ve been keeping to the Slimming World principles when I can but sometimes I’ve just had to stick a frozen pizza in the oven to […]

  28. […] than I’d generally have in a month I have also piled on the pounds, so I’m back on the Slimming World Diet again, so a lot of the recipes over the next few months will be diet-compatible, but I thought […]

  29. […] the wrong things, so once again I’m on a diet! I’ve previously tried the Dukan Diet and Slimming World but neither has been quite the right fit for me. I found the Dukan too restrictive and a bit […]

Leave a comment