27 Comments

Oat Bran Pancake (Dukan Diet Attack Phase 1)

On the Dukan diet it is compulsory to oat bran daily. In the attack phase this is limited to 1½ tablespoons a day. The Dukan book gives a recipe for a galette, which I tried to make last year, and just couldn’t get right. Anyway, I decided to just use the oat bran, an egg and some milk, more like a traditional pancake better, hence oat bran pancakes!

I’m not sure why my galettes didn’t work, Goodness Wrapped in Happiness has made an oat bran galette that looks great. Mine just kept falling apart!

I won’t lie to you, these are pretty bland, and I find the texture not unpleasant but odd as the oat bran, though finely milled, stays quite solid. I tend to put herbs and/or spices in my to jazz it up a bit. Tarragon or flat leaf parsley are great. It can be served hot or cold, but I find it’s better hot.

I usually half my pancake between lunch and dinner so I have some carbs with each. They’re great for an open sandwich or wrap but can be a bit dry so I tend to sprinkle them with a little lemon juice, and spread some yoghurt or quark on top or serve with a yoghurt dip. Sometimes I make a very thin gravy, especially if I have it with beef or chicken, and pretend it’s Yorkshire pudding.

Ingredients:

Oat bran – 1½ tablespoons

Egg – 1 large

Skimmed milk – 2 tablespoons

Seasoning – salt, pepper and any fresh or dried herbs or spices you fancy

Equipment: Bowl, whisk, spoon, the best large non-stick pan you have,kitchen towel, a good spatula/turner/fish slice

Method:

  1. Put the oat bran, egg and seasoning into a bowl and whisk together.
  2. Add the milk one tablespoon at a time and whisk in.
  3. Dab some oil on the kitchen towel and wipe it all over the surface of the pan.
  4. Heat the pan on high for a minute and add the batter, spread it over the pan as evenly as you can.
  5. Turn the heat down to medium and watch until it looks like it’s about cooked through.
  6. With whatever flat ended kitchen utensil you’ve found start to ease away the pancake from the pan, and when it’s all loose turn it over.
  7. Cook for another minute.
27 comments on “Oat Bran Pancake (Dukan Diet Attack Phase 1)

  1. Hey Corina, how are you going with the diet? Maybe they fell apart because they weren’t cooked for long enough on the first side? I had this issue, some of mine looked like a scramble after I tried to flip it. Not pleasant. I must confess I had pizza for breakfast, left over from last night. Diet isnt going so well!

    • It was last year I tried to make them, so I can’t remember exactly why. I’m wondering if the quark and yoghurt I use are a bit too thick… Using milk seems to work ok for me though.

      Lol! I had pork belly and pork ribs as my last supper last night, surprised I hadn’t put on weight this morning!

  2. […] precise (180g). I like steak. I seasoned it with lots of pepper and cooked it rare. I also made the oat bran pancake, but I just had half, I like to spread out my carbs allowance over 2 meals. I served it with a […]

  3. […] the breast meat (250g) and served it with a minty yoghurt dip (mint, yoghurt, lemon juice), and the oat bran pancake (I tried to pretend it was a chapati…). Total: Calories: 950 Fat: […]

  4. […] 1 large egg and ½ oat bran pancake. I do like an egg for breakfast, even one on its own can see you over for a good couple of hours. I […]

  5. […] Smoked Salmon (120g), 1/2 oat bran pancake, and a tablespoon of quark. Sprinkle lemon juice on the pancake, spread over the quark and top with […]

  6. […] salmon (100g), 1/2 oat bran pancake, and a tablespoon of quark (see Day 2 for my tips about preparing this lunch). Calories – […]

  7. […] salmon (180g), 1/2 oat bran pancake, and a tablespoon of quark (see Day 2 for my tips about preparing this lunch). Calories – […]

  8. […] 12 slices (c.  110g) of wafer thin ham (I only used 5 in the “sandwich,” ½ oat bran pancake, and Nando’s yoghurt sauce (1 tablespoon of yogurt and Nando’s peri-peri sauce to […]

  9. […] 12 slices (c.  110g) of wafer thin ham (I only used 5 in the “sandwich,” ½ oat bran pancake, and Nando’s yoghurt sauce (1 tablespoon of yogurt and Nando’s peri-peri sauce to […]

  10. […] salmon (180g), 1/2 oat bran pancake, and a tablespoon of quark (see Day 2 for my tips about preparing this lunch). Calories – […]

  11. […] salmon (180g), 1/2 oat bran pancake, and a tablespoon of quark (see Day 2 for my tips about preparing this lunch). Calories – […]

  12. […] a my Dukan favourite smoked salmon open “sandwich” – smoked salmon (200g), 1/2 oat bran pancake, and a tablespoon of quark (see Day 2 for my tips about preparing this lunch). Calories – […]

  13. […] A ham “sandwich” using half an oat bran pancake (see Day 29). Calories – […]

  14. […] salmon (180g), 1/2 oat bran pancake, and a tablespoon of quark (see Day 2 for my tips about preparing this lunch). Calories – […]

  15. […] I had half an oat bran pancake and some of last night’s lovely roast beef. Calories – […]

  16. […] a my Dukan favourite smoked salmon open “sandwich” – smoked salmon (150g), 1/2 oat bran pancake, and a tablespoon of quark (see Day 2 for my tips about preparing this lunch). Calories – […]

  17. […] I had quite a lot, a cup of coffee, ¼ of an oat bran pancake with a boiled egg and 2 slices of mustard coated ham. Calories – […]

  18. […] My favourite lunch again, smoked salmon open “sandwich” – smoked salmon (150g), 1/2 oat bran pancake, and a tablespoon of quark (see Day 2 for my tips about preparing this lunch). Calories – […]

  19. […] I made a ham “sandwich” with 1/2 oat bran pancake and 8 slices of ham. Calories […]

  20. […] That Dukan classic, smoked salmon open “sandwich” – smoked salmon (150g), 1/2 oat bran pancake, and a tablespoon of quark (see Day 2 for my tips about preparing this lunch). Calories – […]

  21. […] Dukan classic, smoked salmon open “sandwich” – smoked salmon (100g), 1/2 oat bran pancake, and a tablespoon of quark (see Day 2 for my tips about preparing this lunch). Calories – […]

  22. […] Dukan classic, smoked salmon open “sandwich” – smoked salmon (100g), 1/2 oat bran pancake, and a tablespoon of quark (see Day 2 for my tips about preparing this lunch). Calories – […]

  23. […] Dukan classic, smoked salmon open “sandwich” – smoked salmon (180g), 1/2 oat bran pancake, and a tablespoon of quark (see Day 2 for my tips about preparing this lunch). Calories – […]

  24. Thanks for sharing your info. I truly appreciate your efforts and I am waiting for your next write ups
    thanks once again.

  25. I beat 2 egg whites firm. Add salt, vanilla, ginger, stevia, pumpkin puree, peanut butter, greek yogurt, oat bran. Then when cooking I place blueberries on galettes before flipping them. Delicious!

Leave a Reply

