6 Comments

Getting Back to Blogging and Low-Carb Dieting

I haven’t blogged regularly for a shamefully long time. I’ve had lots of things going on in ‘real life’ and the popularity of my blog meaning that it has more or less taken care of itself has allowed me to get away with this neglect. Things have settled down a bit now and in the past month I’ve been cooking and making more new recipes, providing lots of material for the blog.

While I may not have been blogging for a while, that hasn’t stopped me eating, sometimes too much and the wrong things, so once again I’m on a diet! I’ve previously tried the Dukan Diet and Slimming World but neither has been quite the right fit for me. I found the Dukan too restrictive and a bit complicated, and I hated the oat bran! The weight loss was really good though. Slimming World let me sneak in too many starchy carbs, while I’d lose half my syns on a small glass of orange juice and as soon as I ate anything that was ready-prepared my syns shot up too! My weight loss was quite good on Slimming World but I found keeping on top how many syns I was having without the help of an app (only Slimming World members can access syns catalogue on their free app) a bit difficult, and I’m not really a diet club meeting type of person. There are lots of great free dieting and nutrition apps out there though, so I decided to come up with my own calorie and carb-controlled diet.

As a petite and not terribly active person I’ve decided to stick to about 1,200 cals a day and under 100g of carbs. The apps are great as I can easily see what I’ve eaten and many include exercise calculators too, so if I’m more active I can consume more calories. It seems to be going quite well so far, I’ve lost 7lbs in less than 4 weeks!

One hundred grams of carbs may not sound like a lot but I’m able to have a glass of fruit juice, 2 slices of wholemeal bread, and a decent-sized baked potato (c. 200g) or portion of rice a day (half a microwavable pouch), with a few grams to spare. Most vegetables are also really low in carbs with only a few grams per 100g so you can fill up on them. Expect a lot of meat-tastic recipes over the next few months, such as Quick Blue Cheese Beef, Slow Cooker Ribs, and Garlic, Ginger & Chilli Pork Fillet (pictured).

20150829_201017

I’ve been having one day off the diet a week. I do try not to go crazy on the carbs, chain-eating pizza probably would undo the work done the previous 6 days, but I’ve not been denying myself and I’ve been baking a few tasty treats, including some awesome Chocolate Brownies (pictured). I’ve also perfected my Ultimate Baked Cheesecake (recipes to follow).

20150825_124436

I hope you’ll all enjoy my new posts, and I promise to try and publish at lease one a week, as well as keeping you updated on the progress of my diet.

6 comments on “Getting Back to Blogging and Low-Carb Dieting

  1. Good to have you back with us! I’ve missed your posts 🙂

  2. good to see you again – beth

  3. […] I mentioned in my last post, I’m currently on a low-carb, low-calorie diet. Pork fillet is a great cut of meat for such a […]

  4. […] is another low-carb diet recipe. As I mentioned in an earlier post, I’m currently sticking to a low-carb (under 100g a day) and calorie controlled diet after […]

Leave a Reply

