3 Comments

Low Syn Tomato Soup (188 cals)

I’m a major soup fan. I really like having soup for lunch, it’s a really easy hot lunch to make, just pop open a can and heat it up, but on the Slimming World Diet canned soups come with syns, and a lot more than you’d think! They’re also high in salt, not as healthy as you think, and not that cheap. So in recent months I’ve started making batches of soup myself and freezing them for later. I made a Tomato, Smoked Garlic and Chilli Soup before I started the diet, it was nice but a little thin. As bread is restricted on this diet I wanted a soup that was a little more substantial, so I added some vegetables, and lentils to thicken it up a bit. It still didn’t end up as thick as my Syn Free Lentil Soup, but add an oz of cooked little pasta shapes and a little cheese or ham for protein and it makes a substantial meal that’ll keep you full for hours.IMG-20130425-01801

This recipe makes 8 generous (500g) portions at 1 syn per portion, it could have been considerably less, ¼ syn, if you used a 1 cal oil spray but I really fancied using olive oil to sautee the vegetables. I worked out the calories content and it’s just 188 calories per portion or 173 if you omit the olive oil.

Ingredients:

Olive oil – 1 tablespoon

Onions – 2 large (peeled & roughly diced)

Garlic – 8 cloves (peeled & crushed)

Carrots – 4 (peeled & roughly diced)

Celery – 3-4 sticks (roughly diced)

Dry red split lentils – 6oz/150g

Potatoes – 2 medium (grated)

Chopped tomatoes – 4x 400g cans

Tomato puree – 4 tablespoons

Chicken stock – 2 pints/1 litre

Water – 2 pints/1 litre (add half and more later if it’s reduced a lot)

Seasoning – whatever you fancy, I used pepper, dried basil, chilli flakes and hot sauce. I season with salt when they’re reheated.

Equipment: Chopping board, knife, grater, large pan with lid, wooden spoon, ladle, blender

Method:

  1. Add the olive oil, and onions to the pan, and fry gently for a few minutes until the onions start to soften.
  2. Add the crushed garlic and sautee for a few more minutes before adding the other vegetables and lentils.
  3. Sautee for a few minutes before adding the tomatoes, puree, stock and half the water.
  4. Bring to the boil and simmer for about 40 minutes mostly covered with the lid until the vegetables are tender.
  5. Blend with a hand or jug blender, I used the blender attachment for my Kenwood Chef.
  6. Divide into freezer-proof containers and allow to cool before freezing. This soup can be reheated on the hob from frozen or will defrost in a couple of hours. Check seasoning before serving.
3 comments on “Low Syn Tomato Soup (188 cals)

  1. I make a super healthy soup stock, too, which I freeze. The I use the stock to make any number of kinds of soup. It saves having tons of all one kind of soup in the freezer. I agree… soup rules!

Leave a Reply

