2 Comments

I’m Back!!! And I’m Bringing Ribs! Barbecue Ribs with Garlic & Smoked Paprika

I haven’t blogged for a very long time. I am terribly sorry, but I do have a really good excuse. I’ve spent the last 6 months frantically finishing my PhD thesis. I finally submitted at the end of May and have spent the past few weeks recovering and generally avoiding my laptop unless I wanted to watch a dvd.

Now, however, I feel suitably recovered to start blogging again and get back into cooking. I have to admit over the last couple of months my culinary exploits didn’t go much further than roasting a chicken, and a lot of my meals were derived from the contents of my freezer, and we’re talking totally prepared and processed. Needless to say being tied to a desk for months and eating more pizzas a week than I’d generally have in a month I have also piled on the pounds, so I’m back on the Slimming World Diet again, so a lot of the recipes over the next few months will be diet-compatible, but I thought I’d start with something a bit more decadent: Barbecue Ribs with Garlic & Smoked Paprika.

20140617_193311

Equipment: large bowl, spoon, cling film, baking tray, tin foil.

Ingredients:

Pork ribs – 1.5lb/750g

Smoked paprika – a couple of teaspoons, depending on how hot you like it.

Mustard Powder – a couple of teaspoons.

Ground ginger – a couple of teaspoons.

Garlic – 4-5 cloves (minced or finely chopped.

Barbecue sauce – a couple of tablespoons.

Method:

  1. Put the pork in a bowl with the spices and garlic, and coat well. Cover with cling film and leave in the fridge for a couple of hours.
  2. Add the barbecue sauce, mix well, recover and return to fridge. Leave for as long as you can.
  3. Preheat oven at (200°C/Fan 180°/Gas 6). Arrange ribs on baking tray, cover with foil and cook for 30 minutes.
  4. Remove foil, turn the ribs and cook for another 20 minutes. If you like your ribs sticky you could brush with more barbecue sauce at this stage. Alternatively, you can stick them on the barbecue to finish them off at this point.
  5. When cooked, remover from the oven and place the ribs on a wire rack to allow some of the fat to drain.
  6. Plate up and eat!
2 comments on “I’m Back!!! And I’m Bringing Ribs! Barbecue Ribs with Garlic & Smoked Paprika

  1. Those look deliciously messy.

Leave a Reply

