2 Comments

Mushroom & Tomato Lentils – Low Syn & Weigh-In

I had my second weigh in on Friday and I’ve lost another 1lb! I’m really pleased with this and hoping it continues at a nice steady pace. I’m finding the Slimming World Extra Easy diet really easy and think even after I reach my target weight I’ll still stick to it for a couple of days a week to keep my weight stable.

This is a lovely low-syn side that’s high in fibre and really tasty. It adds up to just 1 syn per portion. You could make this recipe syn free if you use the 1 cal cooking spray and substituted passata or canned tomatoes for the puree. I just prefer to use real olive oil and I was out of passata.IMG-20130221-01443

I used one of my daily healthy extra cheese portions to top it with some finely sliced dolcelatte, a lovely creamy Italian blue cheese which made it taste extra rich and luxuriant.

Ingredients:

Olive oil spray – 14 sprays

Garlic – 2 cloes (finely diced)

Mushrooms – 100g (finely sliced)

Lentils – 1 can (drained & rinsed)

Tomato puree – 2 tablespoons

Seasoning – salt, pepper and dried herbs

Equipment: Chopping board, knife, non-stick frying pan, wooden spoon, sieve

Method:

  1. Put the oil in the frying pan and heat on a medium heat.
  2. Add the garlic and the mushrooms and sautee for a few minutes until starting to soften. You might need to add a little water if the pan is a bit dry.
  3. Add the lentils, and stir in the tomato puree, seasoning and a little water.
  4. Simmer until the lentils are cooked and the water has evaporated.

2 comments on “Mushroom & Tomato Lentils – Low Syn & Weigh-In

  1. That looks good. How do canned lentils taste. I’ve only ever cooked my own but if they taste the same I’ll give them a go!

Leave a Reply

