2 Comments

Radio Silence & Syn Free Carbonara with Parma Ham & Chilli

Regular readers may have noticed that I’ve not been posting as regularly as I used to, in fact I’ve been downright rubbish at keeping up with my blog over the last few months! I do have a good reason though, I’m coming to the end of my PhD, and although I’m still cooking I’ve been falling back on old recipes I’ve already posted that are quick and easy to prepare. There’s been lots of ragus and roast chicken or pork, and I’m having lentil or tomato soup for lunch most days, not exactly exciting blog material. Even the diet is suffering a bit, I’ve been keeping to the Slimming World principles when I can but sometimes I’ve just had to stick a frozen pizza in the oven to having something hot, quick and filling!

I do still keep an eye on the blog though, it’s not neglected completely, and I’m pleased that the readership hasn’t been affected by my radio silence. I’ve also been really pleased at the wonderful comments I’ve had about my Garlic, Soy & Honey Slow Cooked Pork Belly Slices recipe, it’s great to know other people are trying my recipes and liking them.

Anyway, back to this recipe! It’s another super quick and easy recipe for the Slimming World diet, and makes a great lunch served with a salad.IMG-20130521-00034

Ingredients:

Pasta – 75g (I used wild garlic pasta, hence the green) Long pastas are better than shapes, tagliatelle, linguine, or spaghetti

Egg – 1 large, all the yolk and half the white

Parma ham – 40g (I cut little chunks from a joint which was great, but you could use ready sliced)

Chilli flakes – to taste

Equipment: Large pan, sieve, bowl, wooden spoon

Method:

  1. Cook the pasta as per instructions on the packet.
  2. In the bowl beat the egg with the chilli flakes and most of the Parma ham.
  3. Drain the pasta, place back in the pan, though not over the heat, and pour in the egg mixture, stirring constantly until pasta is coated and sauce has thickened.
  4. Serve with the remainder of the Parma ham scattered on top.
2 comments on “Radio Silence & Syn Free Carbonara with Parma Ham & Chilli

  1. I love carbonara and green pastas add a lovely level of color and taste… I have never seen the wild garlic kind though 😦

Leave a Reply

