9 Comments

Five-A-Day Vegetable Soup

I like having soup for lunch. I usually have a tin of lentil or oxtail, but canned soups can be quite high in salt. The lentil soup I get now has one portion of fruit/veg in it, considering it’s got lentils, carrots and tomatoes in I didn’t think that was a lot. So I decided to see if I could do better myself. Not only would making my own soup mean I could make it healthy by packing it full of fruit and vegetables, but I could considerably cut down on my salt intake.

I did some research about how much of different fruits and veg actually constitutes a portion.

The general rule for most veg is 1oz/30g or 3 heaped tablespoons cooked = 1 portion. Some however are slightly different quantities:

  • Spinach – 3oz/80g raw or 2 heaped tablepsoons cooked = 1 portion
  • Tinned tomatoes (technically a fruit, I know) – ½ can (7oz/200g) = 1 portion
  • Tomato puree – 1 heaped tablespoon = 1 portion
  • Celery – 3 sticks = 1 portion
  • Onion – 1 medium = 1 portion

To get the most benefit you’re also meant to get a wide variety of different types and colours of fruit and veg.

Making your own soup is also a lot cheaper than buying tinned. I use my own stock made from leftover chicken carcasses (Slow Cooker Chicken Stock) so that’s practically free, and all the other ingredients came in at under £4.50. I got 9 (400g) portions of soup so that’s less that 50p a serving and over 5 portions of fruit/veg. I worked out the calorie content for a bowl and it comes in at just 181 calories.

It was super filling so next time I’ll divide it into 300g portions. I should get 12, which would be 38p per portion! Not bad for a healthy, nutritious and filling meal. Splitting it into 12 means it will technically be just 4-a-day soup (114 cals), but that’s still pretty good going for one meal!

Ingredients:

Olive oil – 1 tablespoon

Butter – 1 tablespoon

Onions – 2 medium (finely diced)

Sugar – 1 teaspoon

Garlic – 4 cloves (minced)

Celery – 3 sticks (finely sliced)

Carrots – 17oz/500g (peeled & finely sliced)

Swede/Turnip – 25oz/700g (peeled & finely chopped)

Tinned tomatoes – 400g can

Tomato puree – 2 heaped tablespoons

Chicken stock – c.3½ pints/2 litres

Spinach – 11oz/300g

Seasoning – Whatever you like, I used Italian seasoning, oregano, celery salt, paprika, chilli flakes, and white pepper

Equipment: Chopping board, knife, very large saucepan, wooden spoon, ladle, blender, large mixing bowl

Method:

  1. Heat the pan with the olive oil and butter in, add the onions and garlic and soften.
  2. When they start to turn translucent add the sugar and start to caramelize the onions.
  3. Add the celery and fry for a few minutes before adding the carrots and swede.
  4. Add the tin of tomatoes, tomato puree, and seasoning. Stir well.
  5. Add the chicken stock and simmer for about 30 minutes until the vegetables are very soft.
  6. Add the spinach and leave to wilt for 5-10 minutes.
  7. Blend in batches, and pour the smooth soup into the clean bowl. To cool the soup quickly for freezing place the bowl in a sink of cold water.
  8. Divide into freezer containers and freeze when completely cold.
  9. Defrost or reheat from frozen in a saucepan.
9 comments on “Five-A-Day Vegetable Soup

  1. […] so only had a glass of orange juice and a cup of tea for breakfast. Lunch was a portion of the Five-A-Day Vegetable Soup I made at the weekend, with a wholemeal pitta bread and 2 BabyBel lights. The soup was quite tasty, […]

  2. […] Five-A-Day Vegetable Soup (cookingwithcorinna.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] I made my Five-A-day Vegetable Soup my Kenwood Titanium Chef was an absolute […]

  4. […] Chicken Stock, which then went into my Slow Cooker Zingy Sweet Pork Fillet (you see, obsessed!) and Five-A-Day Vegetable Soup, so I need to replenish my supply as I’ll be out of chicken stock soon. I’ve made a few […]

  5. […] so far. Breakfast was orange juice, coffee, and high fibre cereal with milk. For lunch I had my Five-A-Day Vegetable Soup with a babybel light and a slice of buckwheat and poppyseed bread. Calories – […]

  6. […] so I just downed a glass of orange juice and an oz of goats cheese. For lunch I had a portion of my Five-A-Day Vegetable Soup with a wholemeal pitta bread and a babybel light. Dinner was a portion of my Ox Cheek Ragu with […]

  7. […] rich soups and stews. Look out for more recipes for batches of soups for the freezer, like my Five-a-Day Soup and protein rich nut low-fat slow cooker dishes like Big Batch Chicken Casserole and Healthier Slow […]

  8. […] lunchtime, so I’m going to make big batches of tasty soups and freeze them. Last year I made Five-A-Day Vegetable Soup, but never really followed it up with other recipes, this year I’m going to be better! Last […]

Leave a Reply

