15 Comments

Vanilla Ice Cream Using Kenwood Chef Ice Cream Maker Attachment

Along the Ice Cream Maker Attachment for my Kenwood Chef  I also received the Ben & Jerry’s Homemade Ice Cream & Dessert Book. I decided to start off with something simple, just to test how well the ice cream maker works, so I plumped for the French Vanilla recipe.

I was not disappointed! The ice cream maker worked like a dream, and the ice cream itself was delicious. The recipe book gives measurements in cups which through me a bit, but luckily I had a measuring cup set in my baking drawer for such emergencies. You can pick cup measurers up in most places now, even supermarkets, but if you don’t have any 1 cup = 240ml/8.5 fl oz. The recipe below made 1 litre of ice cream, just right for attachment.

Ingredients:

Eggs – 2 large

Sugar – ¾ cup

Double or whipping cream – 2 cups

Milk – 1 cup (I used semi-skimmed)

Vanilla extract – 2 teaspoons

Equipment: Stand mixer (or a bowl and whisk), spatula, ice cream maker, lidded container(s)

Method:

  1. Break the eggs into the mixing bowl.
  2. Whisk until light and fluffy.
  3. Gradually whisk in the sugar (I did ¼ cup at a time), until incorporated, and then for another minute.
  4. Add the cream, milk and vanilla extract and mix well.
  5. Chill in fridge for 30 minutes.
  6. Add to your ice cream maker following the manufacturer’s instructions. For the Kenwood, the gel-filled bowl needs to be frozen for 24 hours prior to use. Fit it into the Kenlyte on the mixer, put the paddle in, the splashguard on top, and lower the machine head to attach to the paddle.
  7. Set the machine to minimum, and add a chilled ice cream mixture through the shoot.
  8. You’ll have ready to eat soft-scoop ice cream (about the consistency of cream whipped to a stiff peak) in 20-30 minutes, after which you can decant into suitable containers, and put the ice cream in the freezer if you prefer it more frozen, or just to keep for later.
15 comments on “Vanilla Ice Cream Using Kenwood Chef Ice Cream Maker Attachment

  1. […] chicken and vegetables for tea (I’ll be posting the recipe later in the week), but I also had homemade vanilla ice cream, and enjoyed a few drinks while out on the night. I really wouldn’t like to hazard a guess at […]

  2. […] I don’t have that much of a sweet tooth but occasionally I do crave specific things. At the end of week I really started to crave chocolate pudding, so I went online and found this recipe on the Good Food website. I modified the method ever so slightly, and given the imperial measurements. It turned out quite well. I used dark muscovado sugar, but I found it slightly too rich so I think I’ll use light muscovado next time. It was delicious served with my homemade Vanilla Ice Cream. […]

  3. […] Helpful – I hope people find my posts on my Kenwood Titanium Chef and the attachments (ice cream maker, blender, multi-mill, and food processor), helpful, for how to make the most of your kitchen […]

  4. […] Vanilla Ice Cream Using My Kenwood Chef Ice Cream Maker Attachment […]

  5. […] 3. What is your favorite sweet treat? Ice cream, especially my Homemade Vanilla Ice Cream. […]

  6. Hi I’ve kenwood ice cream maker attachments and every time I make ice cream I’m not having smooth and soft ice cream but I have crystal ice with it so I’d like to know why

  7. Is the bowl with gel must be reay frozen? Because I can’t freeze mt gel bowl. Even I’ve freeze it for 24 hours when I shake it I can still hear a liquid. Is that normal? Will it still work?

    • Mine completely freezes and goes a lot paler in colour. I suggest you check the temperature of your freezer and make sure it’s at least -20. Also wrap it in a plastic bag and put some frozen veg in the bowl while it is in the freezer. If that still doesn’t work I’d contact Kenwood.

  8. Hi, just wanted to say that my family and I loved this ice cream – we won’t be buying any of the rubbish from the supermarket anymore! Such a simple recipe and you know exactly what you and your family are eating. I used locally made cream, fairtrade sugar and vanilla from Mauritius.

    I used the same method as you, using the attachment for the Kenwood chef. The ice cream is PERFECT if you follow the recipe exactly and let it soften for a bit (as you would Haagen Dazs or any other good quality ice cream)

    Thank you so much!

  9. This recipe is excellent. Really foolproof and makes a wonderful ice cream. The flavour and texture improves greatly overnight too.

Leave a Reply

