22 Comments

Chips/ Fries in the Tefal ActiFry – Syn Free!!!

Everyone loves proper fried Homemade Chips, but they’re often the first thing to get knocked on the head when you’re on a diet. Deep fried food is a dieter’s nemesis, so bad for you, so many calories, but so very tasty.

Over the last few years there’s been a revolution in kitchen gadgets, and air fryers have been developed by many of the top brands, so you can have your favourite foods at a fraction of the calories. For Christmas I got a Tefal ActiFry. It sat in the box for a while, thinking even that probably wasn’t great for my post-Christmas health kick. Then I started Slimming World and assumed there was no way I could incorporate chips cooked in oil into my new diet without racking up loads of syns. How wrong I was! Going back over my stuff I noticed that 1 tablespoon of olive oil can be used as a healthy extra b! What do you need to make chips in the ActiFry – 1 tablespoon of olive oil for 1 kg of potatoes! Now, I realised that didn’t mean I could eat the whole kg of chips, but I could still have a decent portion of chips syn free.IMG-20130416-01730

If you’ve already used you’re healthy extra b 1 tablespoon of olive oil is just 6 syns, so you could have 1 portion of chips for just 1.5 syns!

I’ve used the ActiFry a number of times now, and I’ve just about perfected chips in them. The first batch weren’t quite right, so here’s a few tips:

  • Long chips can get a bit broken up, so i tend to make short fattish chips, great way to use all the potatoes that a too small for jackets.
  • Rinse the chips really well to get all the starch off and make sure you dry them thoroughly, otherwise they can scorch and become a bit dry.
  • Put half the potatoes in the ActiFry and pour over half the oil, then add the rest of the potatoes and oil and stir to coat well with the oil.
  • Keep an eye on the chips while they’re cooking, the manual says a full batch takes about 40 minutes, but I tend to find they’re cooked after 30.
  • If you want your chips to stay crispy open the lid as soon as it’s finished cooking.IMG-20130419-01743

Ingredients:

Potatoes – 1kg unpeeled weight (peeled & chipped)

Olive oil – 1 tablespoon

Equipment: Chopping board, knife, pan of water, sieve, paper towel, ActiFry

Method:

  1. Peel and cut the potatoes into chips, and place in a pan of cold water.
  2. Rinse, drain well, and dry thoroughly on paper kitchen towel.
  3. Put chips in the ActiFry and pour over the oil.
  4. Set the timer and turn the ActiFry on, the chips should be ready in about 30 minutes.IMG-20130416-01727
22 comments on “Chips/ Fries in the Tefal ActiFry – Syn Free!!!

  1. I have so been thinking about getting one of these! I think it will be on my Christmas list!

  2. I also have an actifry had mine for more than a year now, I love it I even make chicken wings in it it makes it real crispy and fries out a lot of oil.

  3. Or it can be syn free if you spray the chips with fry light ;D

  4. I have tried every kind of potatoe and every one I roast comes our like bread crumbs. Can anyone tell me where/what I am doing wrong

  5. Love actifry chips they brilliant. They taste amazing. Anyone thinking of getting one do it.

  6. I got one. Peeled and cut the chips sprayed them with fry lite and did them for 20 mins. Great syn free chips. Looking forward to trying other things in it

  7. Warning against using Frylight. A few SW members have found that the Frylight can ruin your Actifry 😦

  8. best xmas present ever. We have had it for about 16 months, use it for chips and potatoes all the time!

  9. The plastic on the lid is ruined from using fry lite we now use the olive oil taste fab ,

  10. Peanut oil makes fab chips in the actifry too.

  11. I’ve never heard of these. Brilliant!

  12. […] Chips/ Fries in the Tefal ActiFry – Syn Free!!! Chips/ Fries in the Tefal ActiFry – Syn Free!!! | Cooking Crisps (slimming world) | healthypages forums, Re: crisps (slimming world) saeriously pleased thread brought top !! partner . […]

Leave a Reply

