13 Comments

Dukan Diet Day 2 & Marinated Steak

I said I’d let you know today if I snacked after dinner last night, and I didn’t need to. When I went to bed at 11pm I wasn’t hungry in the slightest.

This morning I got on the scales and I’ve lost 3lbs! This is an excellent start and has made me very happy. Only 12lbs to go!

Breakfast: A cup of coffee, and medium egg boiled midway between soft and hard (see Day 1 for my method).

Lunch: Smoked salmon (120g), 1/2 oat bran pancake, and a tablespoon of quark. Sprinkle lemon juice on the pancake, spread over the quark and top with about half the smoked salmon and some cracked black pepper. I eat this open, with a knife and fork (I find it makes it last longer) but if you work or need to have lunch on the go you can make it in advance and roll it up into a little wrap. It’s also great warm: Reheat the pancake in a dry frying pan. Flip over, spread on the quark and top with smoked salmon. Heat for another 30 seconds and serve. 

This is probably my favourite lunch to have on the Dukan diet as I love smoked salmon! It can be expensive but in supermarkets you can get packets for £2-3, compare that to the price of a shop bought sandwich or pre-prepared salad and you’ll realise you’re not paying much more, and in some cases less. You can also get packets of salmon trimmings (c.120g) now (Sainsbury’s are very good and Morrisons do them too, as well as slices in their “M Savers” range (c.£2.60)) for less than £1!

Dinner: Griddled steak (150g) marinated in garlic, and flat leaf parsley, sprinkled with dried smoked chilli & garlic mix, with 1/2 oat bran pancake.

Snacks: Again, I got a bit peckish between lunch and dinner so I had what was left in the tub of yoghurt (175g). I get the total 0% yoghurt by Fage. It’s really thick and creamy and the amount I had saw me through until dinner.

Total:

Calories: 850

Fat: 40g

What I find doing this diet does is remind me how filling protein actually is. I wouldn’t say I’m having a larger quantity than I would normally, especially when it comes to my evening meals (I often have soup for lunch) as I’m a big meat eater. The only really change is I’m not filling my plate with carbs (potatoes, pasta, etc) that I obviously falsely assume is what will fill me up. A trap I also fall into with carbs is you get more quantity for your calories than with meat. hence you can have more, but it turns out I don’t really need more. So when I go back to a non-Dukan diet my potato intake is going to be capped at 250g (for baked/boiled/roasted) or 250 cals (oven chips/wedges) per meal. Pasta is a whole other matter, I’ll never be able to cap that as I love it so much, but I will have it a maximum of once every two weeks. I also intend to eat brown rice more regularly, as I really like it and it’s probably the best complex carb.

13 comments on “Dukan Diet Day 2 & Marinated Steak

  1. […] today anyway. I had smoked salmon and steak in the fridge, so I had the same meals as I did on Day 2 (though with a larger quantity of steak). I’ve actually quite enjoyed it. Steak and smoked […]

  2. […] salmon (100g), 1/2 oat bran pancake, and a tablespoon of quark (see Day 2 for my tips about preparing this lunch). Calories – […]

  3. […] salmon (180g), 1/2 oat bran pancake, and a tablespoon of quark (see Day 2 for my tips about preparing this lunch). Calories – […]

  4. […] salmon (180g), 1/2 oat bran pancake, and a tablespoon of quark (see Day 2 for my tips about preparing this lunch). Calories – […]

  5. […] salmon (180g), 1/2 oat bran pancake, and a tablespoon of quark (see Day 2 for my tips about preparing this lunch). Calories – […]

  6. […] – smoked salmon (200g), 1/2 oat bran pancake, and a tablespoon of quark (see Day 2 for my tips about preparing this lunch). Calories – […]

  7. […] salmon (180g), 1/2 oat bran pancake, and a tablespoon of quark (see Day 2 for my tips about preparing this lunch). Calories – […]

  8. […] – smoked salmon (150g), 1/2 oat bran pancake, and a tablespoon of quark (see Day 2 for my tips about preparing this lunch). Calories – […]

  9. […] “sandwich” – smoked salmon (150g), 1/2 oat bran pancake, and a tablespoon of quark (see Day 2 for my tips about preparing this lunch). Calories – […]

  10. […] “sandwich” – smoked salmon (150g), 1/2 oat bran pancake, and a tablespoon of quark (see Day 2 for my tips about preparing this lunch). Calories – […]

  11. […] “sandwich” – smoked salmon (100g), 1/2 oat bran pancake, and a tablespoon of quark (see Day 2 for my tips about preparing this lunch). Calories – […]

  12. […] “sandwich” – smoked salmon (100g), 1/2 oat bran pancake, and a tablespoon of quark (see Day 2 for my tips about preparing this lunch). Calories – […]

  13. […] “sandwich” – smoked salmon (180g), 1/2 oat bran pancake, and a tablespoon of quark (see Day 2 for my tips about preparing this lunch). Calories – […]

Leave a comment