3 Comments

Dukan Diet Day 3 & Whole Roasted Tandoori Chicken

So I hopped on the scales this morning and I’ve lost another 1lb, which I’m more than happy with. 11lbs to go!

Breakfast: A cup of coffee, and large egg boiled midway between soft and hard (see Day 1 for my method).

Lunch: The weather here today was lovely, so I spent the day sunbathing and working (honest) in the garden, and I’m saving my whole pancake for tonight, so I just picked at bits throughout the afternoon. In all I had 100g of smoked salmon with lemon juice, and a 130g tin of tuna (your not allowed fish canned in oil so I had one in spring water) with Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce.

Dinner: I was very excited about dinner, I made whole roasted tandoori chicken. I removed the skin from a whole chicken (a great way of resisting the temptation to eat it once the chicken is cooked, although the book says you can cook chicken with the skin on), and made long gashes in the flesh. I put it in a bowl, sprinkled it very generously with a tandoori powder mix, scattered some sliced garlic and ginger over it, and then covered it is yoghurt mixed with a bit of lemon juice. Covered it with clingfilm and put it in the fridge to marinate for 6 hours (though you could do longer I had to wait for the chicken to defrost first!). Cook in a lidded roasted pan, in a preheated oven (190°/Fan 170°/Gas 5) for 20 minutes per lb/500g, plus an extra 20 minutes. Baste a couple of times during cooking. The juices should run clear when you pierce the thickest part of the bird (the bottom of the breast) with a skewer and the leg and thigh should come away from the bone easily. I had the breast meat (250g) and served it with a minty yoghurt dip (mint, yoghurt, lemon juice), and the oat bran pancake (I tried to pretend it was a chapati…).

Total:
Calories: 950
Fat: 36g

Today I’ve been having cravings. I’m starting to have cheese withdrawl. It does not help that there’s some Danish Blue in the fridge that keeps trying to tempt me to eat it. And bread, there’s a nice wholemeal sunflower seed Polish bread in the freezer. Mmmmm, bread… I think today will be my last day of the Dukan this week, if I try to restrict myself tomorrow I think I’ll just end up cracking and have a mega splurge! What I am going to do is plan very carefully what I’m going to eat, stay under 1200 calories, be low-carb, and not deviate from it.

3 comments on “Dukan Diet Day 3 & Whole Roasted Tandoori Chicken

  1. I’ve heard of this diet, glad it is working for you. For me, to successfully lose weight, I find I have to be strict with my food and combine it with a good exersize regime, which I do normally anyway (4-5 times a week, 45 minutes). Good luck.

  2. Sorry, typo exersize, kindly correct to exercise.

  3. I love to see an under 1000 cal day, since that is my every day, great progress! I googled and found a few craving web sites that help me, like salt cravings mean you really need water (your body is tricking you into eating salt, so you get thirsty) It oddly works! good luck!

Leave a Reply

