9 Comments

Carrot & Swede (Turnip) Mash

This is the first of my Christmas Menu posts. This mash is really easy to make ahead and freeze. You can defrost it, or not, and reheat in a microwave or oven.IMG-20121219-01224

I use  a ricer because I have one, and I find it’s easier to get a smoother result for mashing large quantities, but any potato masher will do. My ricer has interchangeable screens, I use the medium one so the vegetables still retain a bit of texture.

I use unsalted butter in my mashes for a few reasons. Firstly I salt the water well which gives the vegetables flavour while they cook, and secondly I find it has a creamier taste, so I don’t need to use extra cream. I also like to put cold butter in and melt it over a low hob while stirring it into the mash.

Ingredients:

Swede/Turnip – 1lb/450g (peeled & cubed

Carrots – 1lb/450g (peeled & chopped)

Salt – 1 tablespoon

Unsalted butter – 1.5-2 oz/45-60g (cubed)

Equipment: Peeler, knife, shopping board, large pan of cold water, sieve, slotted spoon, potato ricer/masher, wooden spoon

Method:

  1. Add the vegetables and salt to a large pan of cold water and put this on a hob at the highest setting.IMG-20121219-01223
  2. Allow to come to the boil, turn down the hob a little, and simmer for 15-20 minutes until the vegetables are very tender.
  3. Drain vegetables into a sieve.
  4. Put the ricer over the pan.
  5. Spoon the vegetables into the ricer in batches and squeeze. Alternatively, return to pan and mash with masher.IMG-20121219-01224
  6. Put the pan back on the hob, on a low setting.
  7. Scatter half the butter cubes fairly evenly over the mash and gradually stir in.
  8. When butter is melted taste the mash and see how much more butter you want to put in.IMG-20121219-01225
  9. Serve immediately or spoon into a freezer container and cool thoroughly before freezing. Alternatively you could leave it in the fridge for a day.IMG-20121219-01228

Defrost and reheat lightly covered in a microwave on full power for 2 minutes, stir and heat for another 2 minutes, repeat until piping hot. (SAFETY WARNING: If using foil trays decant into a microwaveable container.)

Alternatively reheat defrosted mash in a preheated oven (190°C/Fan 170°C/Gas 5) for about 30 minutes covered with foil for half the time. Stir halfway through and check it is piping hot before serving.

Check the seasoning once reheated.

9 comments on “Carrot & Swede (Turnip) Mash

  1. This is one of the things that i have to bring to the parents on Xmas day (that and a whole bunch of other stuff – i bet we all end up making the same thing)

  2. […] method I use is more or less identical to my Carrot & Swede Mash (forgot to take pictures so check out that post for them), I use a potato ricer, but with the fine […]

  3. Carrots and Turnip Mashed was my late wife Selena’s favourite veg to go with any dinner, now i have to make it at Christmas the trouble is if I make it to soon the Grandchildren eat it before Christmas just as it is.

  4. We have this every Sunday with a roast , in scouse on Monday and soup just any day , but never , ever with butter yukk… use meat juice or oil to mash and plenty of white pepper not black.

Leave a comment