14 Comments

My Christmas Dinner Menu & Recipes

I’m very excited about Christmas and the thing I’m most excited about is all the cooking! I’m not a slave to the cooking on Christmas day though, I like to prepare things ahead so I have plenty of time to open presents and spend with family on the big day. Eating in the evening helps with this too, so I don’t have a made rush to get everything on the table for 12 or 2pm.378954_10100099097540143_1463419177_n

It’s also ok to cheat on a few things! A few weeks ago my mother has managed to pick up some reduced vegetable dishes from the supermarket, a cauliflower cheese dish and sprouts with bacon (which makes me happy because I don’t have to prepare a lb of sprouts just for her!), all I need to do is remember to defrost them!  They microwave so that’ll free up valuable space in the oven and on the hob too.

My Menu:

Roast Goose

Homemade Goose Gravy

Goose Fat Roasted Potatoes

Mashed Potatoes

Carrot & Swede Mash

Honey Roasted Carrots & Parsnips

Great Nana’s Italian Stuffing

Yorkshire Puddings

Pigs in Blankets

Mary Berry’s Chocolate Yule Log

Homemade Vanilla Ice Cream

Over the next few days I’ll be pre-cooking a few of these things (or parts of them) and posting the recipes. Not only does this save time on the day but it means you can shop earlier and avoid the last minute madness at the supermarkets! You can kick off you Christmas preparations with my fool-proof Yorkshire Pudding recipe, cook them now and freeze them until you need them, they reheat in minutes. You can make the Vanilla Ice Cream now too.

Giant and Medium Yorkshires

Giant and Medium Yorkshires

Eventually all the recipes will appear on this blog, but sadly some won’t be going up until after I’ve actually made them at Christmas!

14 comments on “My Christmas Dinner Menu & Recipes

  1. We are having roast beef and Yorkshire pudding for Christmas dinner. Yours look awesome. We use lactose free milk and always get a great rise.
    Happy Dining,
    Conor

  2. great looking menu, I look forward to seeing everything soon!

  3. […] is the first of my Christmas Menu posts. This mash is really easy to make ahead and freeze. You can defrost it, or not, and reheat in […]

  4. Yikes! This reminds me I’d better stop surfing and get cooking my own xmas dishes – time is running out!

  5. […] day, a another make-ahead and freeze recipe from my Christmas Menu! Today it’s mashed potatoes, a firm Christmas or Sunday favourite and lots of people’s […]

  6. […] another recipe from my Christmas menu. It’s another fairly easy one that really delivers on flavour. The honey really compliments […]

  7. […] time has come for me to post about the main attraction of my Christmas dinner menu, the roast goose. I have cooked goose before and found it a very easy bird to cook, and a tasty […]

  8. […] Christmas dinner just wouldn’t be complete without roast potatoes, and they’re one of my favourite parts of it. I’ve eaten and cooked many roast potatoes over the years and in my opinion the best way to cook them is in goose fat, no other ingredients are required, just potatoes and goose fat! […]

  9. […] time round, but sometimes they can dry out when reheated. Inevitably there are some leftover at Christmas or after a big roast dinner, and you don’t want to through them away so hopefully my little […]

  10. […] not just leftovers from the Christmas dinner itself you have to deal with at Christmas, it’s all the extra things you buy because […]

  11. […] at Christmas there’s one dish which my mother makes, her nana’s Italian stuffing. This year it was […]

Leave a Reply

