5 Comments

Leftover Chicken in Barbecue Sauce

This is another idea for something to do with leftover roast chicken (as opposed to just eating it cold). I’ve posted my Leftover Chicken Hot Pot recipe before, but it being summer (in name at least) I fancied something a bit lighter. I had some burger buns to use up so I tried to think of a dish I could make that would go well with them. I remembered I had a portion of my barbecue sauce still left in the freezer, so I decided to cook the chicken in that, but you could use shop bought. This dish is definitely a winner, it was super quick and easy and didn’t disappoint when it came to flavour! 

It’s amazing how much meat you can get off a chicken when you strip the carcass. A 4.5lb/2kg chicken can easily provide 6-8 portions. Don’t just take the meat off the thighs, legs, and breast, flip your chicken over and there’s loads of tasty and tender meat underneath if you take a couple of minutes to strip the bones. If you’re feeling really thrifty you can use the carcass to make chicken stock too.

Ingredients:

Leftover chicken – medium sized chunks

Barbecue sauce – 1 quantity (10 fl oz/300ml) defrosted if frozen

Tomato ketchup – 2-3 tablespoons+ (optional)

Soft brown sugar – 1 tablespoon+ (optional)

Honey – 1 tablepsoon+ (optional)

Cider vinegar – 1 tablepoon+ (optional)

Equipment: Oven-proof pan with lid, wooden spoon

Method:

  1. Reheat the barbecue sauce until it starts to boil. Try a bit and see if it needs some/how much extra ketchup/sugar/honey/vinegar.
  2. When it the right flavour (for your personal taste) add the chunks of chicken and stir in well.
  3. Cover and cook in a preheated oven (190°/Fan 170°/Gas 5) for 20 minutes or until the chicken is throughly reheated and starts to fall apart.
  4. Serve in warmed buns.

5 comments on “Leftover Chicken in Barbecue Sauce

  1. It’s like a pulled chicken dish. Yum!

  2. Mmm it all looks so good and so low in calories!

  3. […] and served it with brown rice. If you want the method it was exactly the same as I did for my Leftover Chicken in Barbecue Sauce recipe, except I used 2 quantities of sweet & sour sauce and left the chicken in larger chunks. […]

Leave a comment