4 Comments

Yorkshire Puddings Using My Kenwood Chef

My obsession with my Kenwood Titanium Chef continues to grow. Now I feel bad when I’m not using it, so the smallest thing that I normally would do by hand I now figure out a way of using my Chef to do. It really does make life so much quicker and easier, and frees me up to get on with something else. At the weekend I decided to make Yorkshire puddings. I love Yorkshire puddings, and they hold a special place in my foody heart. Sitting down to a plateful of puds (served on their own as a starter in the traditional manner), at my great gran’s at Sunday dinner is one of my earliest food related memories.

Check out my previous post on Yorkshire Puddings for the timings for making different sized puds.

I’ve given quantities below, but I work on using the same volume of all the ingredients to give perfect puds every time. As usual I made a big batch and froze the extra.

Ingredients: (These quantities make about 15 muffin-tin sized puds)

Eggs – 3 large

Flour – 115g

Milk – 6fl.oz/170ml

Seasoning – Salt and pepper. Try adding some dried herbs for herby Yorkshires (oregano, thyme, sage, or tarragon work well).

Beef dripping

Equipment: A glass or measuring jug, Kenwood chef with K-beater, muffin tin.

Method:

  1. Take a glass (or 2 or 3 if you have identical glasses), or a measuring jug if you have one, crack the eggs into it, and make a note (mental or with a bit of felt tip) of where they come up to and pour in the mixing bowl.
  2. Rinse and dry the glass with kitchen towel, and add the same amount of flour to the glass and tip into the bowl. Mix on speeds 2-4 until incorporated and smooth.
  3. Pour the milk into the glass to the same point as the eggs and flour, pour half into the batter and mix in completely before adding the other half and mixing in until smooth.
  4. Pour the batter into the measuring jug if you’ve used one (this makes it really quick and easy to pour the batter into the trays) and put it in the fridge for at least half an hour or as long as you like.
  5. Preheat the oven to 230°C/Fan 220°C/Gas 9.
  6. Put a dab of dripping into each hole of the muffin tin and put it on the top shelf of the oven (at least 5 inches from the top though, or the Yorkshire can scrape against the top of the oven, especially the giant ones). Remove the trays when the fat is smoking hot. If the melted dripping doesn’t coat the bottom of each hole add a bit more dripping and put back in the oven until smoking hot again.
  7. Fill the trays about ½ full, put in the oven and cook for 6-8 minutes. Don’t open the oven door during this time.
  8. Still don’t open the door!  Turn the oven down to 180°C/Fan 165°C/Gas 4.
  9. After 10 minutes you can open the door and see if the Yorkshires are cooked, they might need a few more minutes.
  10. Best served with roast beef or chicken and thick gravy.
To Freeze:
Just pop what’s leftover into plastic freezer bags in portions or altogether in a re-sealable bag or tupperware box (they don’t stick together). Defrost as needed (an hour max) or cook from frozen at 180°C/Fan 165°C/Gas 4 for 3-5 minutes.

4 comments on “Yorkshire Puddings Using My Kenwood Chef

  1. What nice airy and light looking yorkshire puddings. I hope you had some gravy to put on them.

  2. […] Yorkshire Puddings Using My Kenwood Chef […]

  3. […] Yorkshire Puddings Using My Kenwood Chef (cookingwithcorinna.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a comment