Leave a comment

Blue Cheese Beef

This is another low-carb diet recipe. As I mentioned in an earlier post, I’m currently sticking to a low-carb (under 100g a day) and calorie controlled diet after getting to my heaviest ever while finishing up my PhD. This diet has been working really well for me and I’ve lost a stone in under 3 months (averaging at just over a lb a week). With this diet I’m going for slow-and-steady, rather than crash dieting, as I believe it gives more sustainable results and encourages better eating habits in the long run. I do have a day off a week to stop myself going stir crazy.

20150802_193808

This recipe serves 2-3 people and was great served with wholegrain rice.

Ingredients:

Fillet steak – 1lb/450g (cut into bite-sized strips)

Mushrooms – 250g (sliced)

Garlic – 4 cloves (crushed)

Olive oil – 1 tablespoon

Saint Agur (semi-soft blue cheese) – 100g

Worcestershire sauce – 2 tablespoons

Seasoning – pepper

Method:

  1. In a frying pan, over a medium heat, cook the mushrooms and garlic with the oil. Add a little water if it gets too dry.
  2. When the mushrooms are soft turn up the heat and add the sliced beef, seasoning, and Worcestershire sauce.
  3. When the meat is browned all over, add the cheese and a little water if the pan looks dry.
  4. Stir until the cheese is melted and you have a creamy sauce.
  5. Serve.
Leave a Reply

