Leave a comment

Slow Roast Pork Belly with Crackling

I love pork, just check out my Pork category for proof of my devotion to this versatile meat. I especially love belly pork, and it’s a fabulous cut to slow roast. Try to get a thickish piece to keep it really moist.IMG-20130429-01802

This time I thought I’d try a trick I’ve seen/heard/read about a few times now and pour boiling water over the skin to help promote good crackling. I’m not sure if it helped any as I don’t usually have a problem with making crackling, but it certainly didn’t harm!

Ingredients:

Pork belly – 1½lb/750g with skin scored

Seasoning – dried minced garlic, dried herbs, cracked black pepper, salt

Boiling water

Equipment: Roasting pan, trivet/wire rack, tin foil

Method:

  1. Season under the belly with garlic, herbs and pepper.
  2. Season the skin side with salt and pepper.
  3. Leave to marinade for a few hours if you have time.
  4. When you’re ready to put the pork in the oven place the trivet in the roasting dish, place the pork on top, skin side up, and pour boiling water over the skin, as much as you like as long as it doesn’t touch the underside of the meat.
  5. Season the skin with more salt and pepper, cover with foil and place in a preheated oven set at 150°C/Fan 130°C/Gas 2 for 2½ hours (another hour for every extra 1lb/450g).
  6. Baste if you like one or two times through cooking.
  7. After the initial cooking time turn the oven to as hot as it’ll go, remove the foil and roast for another 30 minutes.
  8. Leave to rest for 10 minutes before carving.

Leave a comment