6 Comments

Roast Guinea Fowl

I’ve never had guinea fowl before (I don’t think), so when my mother brought one home I decided it was probably best for my first culinary adventure with it to just follow the instructions on the packet and roast it. I covered the skin with a few rashers of bacon to stop it from drying out, especially the breast, which is smaller that a chicken breast for the same weight bird. I didn’t put too much seasoning on because I really wanted to get the full flavour of the meat. I really liked it. It had a subtle gamey flavour, and made a really tasty alternative to chicken.IMG-20130225-01454

Ingredients:

Guinea fowl – 1kg

Seasoning – Pepper

Bacon – 2-3 rashers

Equipment: Roasting pan, tin foil

Method:

  1. Place the bird in the roasting tin and season well with pepper.
  2. Cover the breast and legs (if you wish) with the bacon and cover with tin foil.
  3. Place in a hot oven (190°C/Fan 170°C/Gas 5) and roast for 20 minutes per lb/450g, plus 20 minutes, removing the foil for the last 20 minutes.
  4. Rest for 5-10 minutes before carving.
6 comments on “Roast Guinea Fowl

  1. I don’t think I’ve ever tried it either – looks good though

  2. I made the mistake of cooking a hen for the first time when we had company over for dinner. B-A-D decision!

    Looks like you had better luck with this guinea fowl than I had with my hen. 🙂 It looks tasty.

  3. well i don’t remember ever having it. haven’t seen one in shops either. but will have a closer look. love your posts! always something new that i haven’t done or tried. thx Corinna

Leave a Reply

