3 Comments

Rough Puff Pasty (Quick Puff)

I promised you this recipe last week when I blogged about making Steak en Croute, so of course I had to deliver, especially as I used the second half of this batch to make Beef Wellington, my Sunday post this week. Over the past year I’ve made shortcrust pastry quite a lot, by hand for Savoury Mince Beef Pies, and Steak & Mushroom Pie,  and in my Kenwood Chef for Beef Pot Roast Leftovers Pie. I’ve found shortcrust really easy, and the more practice I have had the easier it’s become, but I’ve always been a bit intimidated by rough puff (let alone puff) pastry. As with many things, necessity led me to man up and get on with it! Why use fuel and pay for shop-bought puff pastry when I had all the ingredients to make pastry in the house already, and the time to do it?IMG-20130103-01319

Just because I’d decided to man up doesn’t mean I didn’t need some support, so I turned to my two baking bibles, the old and a little battered The New Art of Cooking by Stork, and Mary Berry’s Complete Cookbook. Comparing the recipes the only thing that was different was Stork uses all stork and adds 2 teaspoons of lemon juice and a pinch of salt. I didn’t have lemon juice so that was out anyway. I didn’t add salt because I was going to be using the pâté, but I think next time I would. Mary uses half butter, half white vegetable fat, but I used unsalted butter and lard. The methods didn’t vary wildly.

It took some time, but not so much as to be prohibitive, especially as I had more than enough pastry for 2 individual Steak en Croute and 1 Beef Wellington which served 2. I’d frozen the half I used to make the Beef Wellington, it was only in the freezer for a few weeks (wrapped in greaseproof paper an din a freezer bag) but it was just as good as when I’d used it fresh. A lot of it was resting time for the pastry, rather than actual work time. I’m sure with practice I’d get quicker too.

The end result was great, better than some puff pastry I’ve had! I’ll definitely be making rough puff myself from now on, and I might even give puff pastry a go!

These quantities make enough for a base and lid for a 10″ pie crust.

Ingredients:

Flour – 8oz/225g

Butter – 3oz/90g (cubed)

Lard – 3oz/90g (cubed)

Water – ¼/150ml

Equipment: Mixing bowl, sieve, knife, pastry board, rolling pin, baking parchment/greaseproof paper

Method:

  1. Sift the flour into the mixing bowl and add the cubed butter and lard, stirring in with the knife to coat with the flour.IMG-20130103-01302
  2. Add the later and mix together with the knife to make a dough. It will look lumpy, don’t worry!IMG-20130103-01303
  3. Turn out onto a floured pastry board, and make it into an oblong shape.
  4. Roll out until it is 3 times as long as it is wide (about 15″ x 5″).IMG-20130103-01305
  5. Dust off excess flour and fold the bottom third up, and the top third down, and press down the edges to seal.IMG-20130103-01307IMG-20130103-01308IMG-20130103-01306
  6. If doing 5 rollings turn the pastry so the right hand edge faces you and repeat steps 4-5 now then go on from step 7, if 4 skip this step.
  7. Wrap in greaseproof paper and leave in the fridge for at least 15-20 minutes.
  8. Repeat the process again 2-3 more times (resting can be omitted if you just do 2 more rolls but if 3 rest at least once in between rolls).
  9. Rest a final time and the pastry is ready to use (it should look smooth).IMG-20130103-01310
3 comments on “Rough Puff Pasty (Quick Puff)

  1. […] Rough puff pastry (or shop-bought puff) – dough made with 4oz/125g flour […]

  2. […] do you make when you have half a quantity of  rough puff pastry and a portion of mushroom duxelle in the freezer, and piece of beef fillet in the fridge? Beef […]

Leave a Reply

