4 Comments

Tomato, Smoked Garlic & Chilli Soup & Diet Update

So it’s been two weeks since the start of the diet. I’ve done ok weight-loss wise, I’d lost 2lbs by Friday, even with a few slip-ups along the way. I just keep telling myself I’m easing into it gently, there’s no point going all-out and cracking after a few weeks. The thinking behind dieting this time is slow and steady wins the race. A few changes here and there, getting into better habits and trying to make not so healthy dishes that I really fancy a bit better, and maybe indulging occasionally.IMG-20130115-01337

One of my ideas is to have more soups. I like soup at lunchtime, but lots of bought ones are high in salt. Man may not be that high in nutrients or RDA of fruit and veg, and can be higher in fat than you’d first think.

Like many people I don’t have time to make soup from scratch every lunchtime, so I’m going to make big batches of tasty soups and freeze them. Last year I made Five-A-Day Vegetable Soup, but never really followed it up with other recipes, this year I’m going to be better! Last week I made this soup which was really easy and fairly quick. I got 5 generous portions with these quantities. It was very tasty and low cal, I haven’t calculated it properly but I reckon a portion is around 100 cals.

Ingredients:

Olive oil – 1 tablespoon

Banana shallots – 4 finely diced

Smoke garlic – 1 bulb/c.10 cloves (crushed)

Chilli flakes – 1 teaspoon

Tinned tomatoes – 2x400g cans

Tomato puree – 1 tablespoon

Chicken stock – ½ pint/300ml (homemade is best but if not go for low sodium varieties)

Water – 1½ pints/900ml (You could use a bigger proportion of stock to water but that was all I had in the freezer)

Hot sauce – not quite to taste if freeszing as more can be added when reheating.

Seasoning – Black pepper, Italian seasoning, salt (If freezing under-season slightly as flavours will develop more and season again when re-heated)

Equipment: Chopping board, knife, large pan with lid, wooden spoon, ladle, blender

Method:

  1.  Add the olive oil, and shallots to the pan, and fry gently for a few minutes until the onions start to soften.
  2. Add the crushed garlic and sautee for a few more minutes before adding the other ingredients, breaking up the tomatoes if you use whole ones.
  3. Bring to the boil and simmer for 20-30 minutes with the lid on.
  4. Blend with a hand or jug blender, I used the blender attachment for my Kenwood Chef.
  5. If you’re eating straight away return to the pan, reheat gently and check seasoning.
  6. If not divide into freezer-proof containers and allow to cool before freezing. This soup can be reheated on the hob from frozen or will defrost in a couple of hours. Check seasoning before serving.
4 comments on “Tomato, Smoked Garlic & Chilli Soup & Diet Update

  1. Absolutely love soup, particularly on such cold and drizzly days. Congrats on your success.

  2. […] months I’ve started making batches of soup myself and freezing them for later. I made a Tomato, Smoked Garlic and Chilli Soup before I started the diet, it was nice but a little thin. As bread is restricted on this diet I […]

Leave a Reply

