8 Comments

My Great Nana’s Italian Stuffing. . . A Version

Usually at Christmas there’s one dish which my mother makes, her nana’s Italian stuffing. This year it was my turn. I wasn’t too worried, I’d watched my mother make it many times, though I’d never taken that much notice (I was usually too busy doing other things) I knew what went in it, and I knew she had a recipe written down, or so I thought… Let’s just say it read more like a story than a recipe! There is no separate list of ingredients or any quantities! When I queried this my mother just said she just put in what looked right. I said that was fine but she shouldn’t have claimed to have written the recipe down. So I went through it with her, through this process we figured out she’d omitted the breadcrumbs from the recipe. After I’d cooked it she asked how much tomato puree I’d put in. The answer was none – the tomato puree had never even been mentioned!IMG-20121224-01281

So with my mother’s vague answers I did the best I could. Cooking temperatures and times were also missing from the “recipe”, I did my best in a full oven, but cooked through it ended up looking a bit dark. When I queried this my mother said her nana might have used a lidded dish!

It tasted good, but I think I need to make it a few more times to figure out the quantities, what to cook it it, how long to cook it for and at what temperature before it’s worthy to be called an actual recipe.

You can have the list of the ingredients though, the existing “recipe” as I discovered isn’t even that!

Ingredients:

  • Onions
  • Garlic
  • Celery
  • Spinach
  • Mushrooms
  • Tomato puree
  • Flat leaf parsley
  • Paxo
  • Sausage meat
  • Breadcrumbs
  • Cheese
  • Eggs
8 comments on “My Great Nana’s Italian Stuffing. . . A Version

  1. I could probably eat this and only this for weeks! Great job

  2. What a delicious combination of flavours.

  3. […] My Great Nana’s Italian Stuffing. . . A Version (cookingwithcorinna.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

