5 Comments

D(iet)-Day

The time has come once again for me to diet. I don’t like autumn/winter, the awful weather, the short days, and what seems to be the inevitable winter weight gain. Maybe my body thinks I should be hibernating. I eat more, and get tempted by comfort foods more easily in winter. Then there’s the festive period – more booze, more food, more meals out, and more takeaways after busy days.

But the days are getting longer and brighter, my clothes are getting tighter, and I’d rather have something light than something convenient. I am definitely ready to diet! I got on the scales this morning and worked out that my BMI is 25.7, I am officially overweight! I want to lose 18lbs, and get my BMI down to a more respectable 22.

So how do I do it? I don’t really fancy doing the Dukan again. It is more of a summer diet, and I don’t want to cut out carbs completely. I’m hoping to lose about 1lb a week. I am going to cut down on carbs, but I quite fancy concentrating on good nutrition rich soups and stews. Look out for more recipes for batches of soups for the freezer, like my Five-a-Day Soup and protein rich nut low-fat slow cooker dishes like Big Batch Chicken Casserole and Healthier Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast with Vegetables. Don’t worry though, I still have a few more decadent recipes saved for blog posts, and I’ll probably allow myself the odd day off for a little cake! I’m going for everything in moderation rather than an extreme quick fix.IMG-20120901-00861

5 comments on “D(iet)-Day

  1. Hey, I hear you with the dieting, such a pain. Why not just restrict your portions, still eat what you want, just not as much. And drink 8 glasses of water a day, it really helps.

  2. Eat, drink and be merry! ha! so no dieting for me.

  3. […] it’s been two weeks since the start of the diet. I’ve done ok weight-loss wise, I’d lost 2lbs by Friday, even with a few slip-ups along […]

Leave a Reply

