1 Comment

Leftovers Lamb Hot Pot

A few weeks ago I posted my Slow Cooker Minted Lamb & Vegetables. It was delicious, but because there were just the two of us there were leftovers – meat, vegetables and the tasty gravy, but not quite enough for a full meal. I didn’t fancy Leftovers Shepherd’s Pie so I fell back on my Leftovers Hot Pot recipe.

Ingredients:

Olive oil or butter – for greasing

Potatoes – 4-5 medium (peeled & thinly sliced)

Leftover lamb – I didn’t weigh it but it was probably a 10oz/300g cut in good-sized chunks

Leftover vegetables – cut into bite-size chunks

Gravy – I think I had about ½ pint/300ml (water it down if you have less)

Cornflour – 1 teaspoon dissolved in water

Equipment: Chopping board, knife, baking or casserole dish, saucepan, wooden spoon

Method:

  1. With a little olive oil or butter grease the baking dish.
  2. Line the bottom of the  dish with half the potatoes.
  3. Heat the gravy in the saucepan and bring to the boil. Stir in the cornflour and simmer for a minute or two before adding the chopped lamb and vegetables and cooking for a few minutes.
  4. Pour into the dish top with the rest of the potatoes. The liquid should come up to just under the top layer of potatoes. Use the pastry brush to lightly oil or butter the top layer of potatoes.
  5. Cover with tin foil and cook in a preheated oven (190°C/Fan 170°C/Gas 5) for 30 minutes.
  6. Remove the lid and cook for another 20-30 minutes until the potatoes are soft and the top browned.
One comment on “Leftovers Lamb Hot Pot

  1. […] I always buy a bigger joint than I actually need so I have plenty of leftovers to make another meal the next day, or to freeze for later.  Shepherd’s pie is a great way of using up leftover lamb. In this recipe I also cook extra carrots, and you should have gravy left too, which will save even more time when preparing the shepherd’s pie. I’ll be posting my shepherd’s pie recipe on Saturday, or you could make a lamb hot pot. […]

Leave a Reply

