5 Comments

Self-Saucing Chocolate Pudding

I don’t have that much of a sweet tooth but occasionally I do crave specific things. At the end of week I really started to crave chocolate pudding, so I went online and found this recipe on the Good Food website. I modified the method ever so slightly, and given the imperial measurements. It turned out quite well. I used dark muscovado sugar, but I found it slightly too rich so I think I’ll use light muscovado next time. It was delicious served with my homemade Vanilla Ice Cream.

Ingredients:

Plain flour – 4.5oz/125g

Golden caster sugar – 2oz/60g

Baking powder – 2 teaspoons

Cocoa powder – 2 teaspoons

Milk – 4fl oz/120ml

Butter – 1.5oz/40g (melted)

Egg – 1 large

vanilla extract – 3 drops

Muscovado sugar – 6oz/170g

Cocoa powder – 2 tablespoons

Boiling water – 9/250ml

Method:

  1. Butter a 1 litre baking dish.
  2. Put the flour, golden caster sugar, baking powder, cocoa powder, milk, butter, egg, and vanilla into a mixing bowl and combine with hand or stand mixer.
  3. Pour the mix into the baking dish. Cover with clingfilm and put in the fridge for at least 4-5 hours.
  4. Remove the baking dish from the fridge at least an hour before cooking so that your dish doesn’t crack in the hot oven.
  5. Take off the clingfilm, sprinkle the muscovado and cocoa powder over the pudding and pour on the boiling water.
  6. Cook in a preheated oven (180°C/Fan 160°C/Gas 4) for 45 minutes until puffy and firm in the centre.
5 comments on “Self-Saucing Chocolate Pudding

  1. Where I live we call this pudding cake. I have old recipe books that go back 70 years and this was a very well liked dessert even then. Thanks for sharing.

  2. omg – this looks amazing! I will definitely have to try this recipe

Leave a Reply

