8 Comments

(Slightly) Healthier Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast with Vegetables

This week at the supermarket the beef brisket was on offer. It’s not the leanest cut of meat, but it is great in the slow cooker! I chose the leanest piece I could find. I decided to make a really quick slow cooker dish on Saturday, I literally just chopped everything up and through it in. I did take some extra time to unroll the brisket and trim off some of the fat to make it healthier, but it’d be even quicker if you’re not counting calories!

As usual I made a big batch and froze the extra portions.

Ingredients:

Beef brisket – 2lb/1kg

Onion – 1 red (finely chopped)

Garlic – 3-4 cloves (crushed)

Potatoes – 1 medium per portion (peeled or not and quartered)

Carrots – 2 per portion (chopped)

Mushrooms – 10oz/300g (finely sliced)

Beef stock – 1pint/half litre (bought, homemade or cube, heat before putting in crock-pot)

Gravy granules – 1 tablespoon

Seasoning – celery salt, thyme, Italian seasoning, pepper, bay leaf

Equipment: Chopping board, knife, slow cooker

Method:

  1. Put the slow cooker on high, add stock, gravy granules and seasoning to the crock-pot while you prepare the vegetables.
  2. Add all the vegetables (except the mushrooms) to the crock-pot and place the beef on top (season the beef too).
  3. Put the mushrooms on top and replace lid.
  4. Cook on high for an hour, and then turn down to low for 8-10 hours, or leave on high for 4-5 hours.
8 comments on “(Slightly) Healthier Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast with Vegetables

  1. Looks delicious. 🙂

  2. Think I will put this one on reserve for the change in seasons… can’t wait

  3. […] vowed to be better the rest of the weekend, and made Healthier Slow Cooker Pot Roast Beef on the Saturday. Sunday I had intended to be thrifty and healthy, defrosting 2 portions of my Slow […]

  4. […] another super quick and easy slow cooker recipe using a cheap cut of meat. As I did with my (Slightly) Healthier Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast I unrolled the brisket to remove a lot of the excess fat. It’s also another batch cooking […]

  5. […] full of flavour (see my Leftovers Steak & Mushroom Pie). A few weeks ago I made big batch of (Slightly) Healthier Slow Cooker Pot Roast Beef with Vegetable, and froze the extra portions with the gravy from the slow cooker. I defrosted 2 portions, I had […]

  6. […] Soup and protein rich nut low-fat slow cooker dishes like Big Batch Chicken Casserole and Healthier Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast with Vegetables. Don’t worry though, I still have a few more decadent recipes saved for blog posts, and […]

Leave a Reply

