5 Comments

Diet Day 74 & Homemade Nando’s Chicken Breasts with Tomatoey Lentils

I had intended to do the Dukan for a second day running but I just didn’t fancy it. The Dukan is the kind of diet you need a well stocked fridge for, but there was no ham, cooked meats or smoked salmon in for my lunch, and I didn’t fancy tuna 2 days in a row. Also the taleggio was still in there, tempting me to eat it!

Breakfast: Orange juice, cup of coffee, a slice of granary bread and 1 oz of taleggio. Calories – 269

Lunch: Can of lentil soup and a mini babybel light. Calories – 230

Dinner: I bought some Nando’s marinade instead of the sauce by accident, so I decided to use some of that to marinade chicken breasts for a few hours.  Cover with foil and cook in a preheated oven (190°/Fan 170°/Gas 5) for 20 minutes (turn over after 10 minutes). Remove foil and cook for another 5-10 minutes until cooked through. I served it with tomatoey lentils. Drain and wash a can of lentils, heat in a pan with a little water. When cooked add 2 tablespoons of tomato puree, a pinch of oregano, and a pinch of dried garlic (to taste). Stir well and heat for another minute. I topped the lentils with 2 thin slices of taleggio, delicious! Calories – 404

Snacks: I did have a blue ribbon chocolate wafer biscuit mid-afternoon. Calories – 99

Total:

Calories – 1002

Fat – 21g

5 comments on “Diet Day 74 & Homemade Nando’s Chicken Breasts with Tomatoey Lentils

  1. Ah, lentils. So delicious and so good for you–and yet so unphotogenic.

    I always get nervous when introducing people to lentil dishes, especially if they’ve never had lentils before…the idea of sticking your spoon into a pot of strange, brownish colored little circles really isn’t very appealing to most people. Which is a shame, because lentils rock. 🙂 Think I’ll try and make some “tomatoey” lentils soon!

  2. […] I used the last of my Nando’s peri-peri marinade to make this delicious chicken dish (see Day 74 for method), and served it with brown rice. Calories – […]

  3. […] month to accompany my Griddled Mint & Garlic Lamb Neck Fillet. I love lentils and often make Tomatoey Lentils as a side using red lentils, but the green ones were really tough (I’m not sure if it’s […]

Leave a Reply

