4 Comments

Pork Belly in Hoisin & Garlic Sauce

If you’re a regular reader of my blog you might know that recently my typical Friday night dinner has been a grilled turkey breast with a baked potato. I’m not too good with food routine, we’ve never been one of those families that has the same meal according to the day of the week. So on Friday, whilst staring at the turkey breasts on the meat counter, I cracked. There had to be something else! Then I saw them, the pork belly slices… I love pork belly. It’s certainly not the healthiest cut of pork, but it’s damn tasty.

I had a bit more time to cook dinner than usual, but at the end of the working week I didn’t want anything too time-consuming prep-wise. I still wanted something that would be flavoursome though, so I decided to cheat a bit and use a sachet of hoisin and garlic stir fry sauce I had in the cupboard.  So I didn’t feel too lazy I did marinade the pork in a spice rub for an hour.

Ingredients:

Pork belly slices – 1lb/450g

Spice rub – ground mixed spice,, ground ginger, paprika, and celery salt

Hoisin & garlic stir fry sauce – 120g sachet (you could use sweet & sour as an alternative)

Equipment: Oven-proof dish, tin foil, tongs

Method:

  1. Sprinkle the pork belly slices with the spice rub, cover with tin foil and set aside for an hour (or the fridge if you have longer).
  2. Pour over the sauce and coat the pork well.
  3. Cook in a preheated oven (170°C/Fan 150°/Gas 3) for 45 mins.
  4. Uncover, turn the oven up to 210°/Fan 190°/Gas 7 and cook for another 20-30 mins until sauce is thick and sticky.
4 comments on “Pork Belly in Hoisin & Garlic Sauce

  1. […] this weekend the diet thing went a bit wrong. Pork belly on Friday night, the chicken in sweet zingy sauce on Saturday was a big improvement, but then I […]

  2. […] Pork Belly in Hoisin & Garlic Sauce (cookingwithcorinna.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] Pork Belly in Hoisin & Garlic Sauce (cookingwithcorinna.wordpress.com) […]

  4. […] Pork Belly in Hoisin & Garlic Sauce (cookingwithcorinna.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

