10 Comments

Slow Cooker Tomatoey Chicken Pot Roast

Another weekend, another slow cooker recipe. Why yes, I am obsessed! Who wouldn’t be? You just put all your ingredients in and forget about it for hours while you get on with your life. You don’t need to worry about anything being under or over-cooked. The slow cooker is really energy efficient too, so you save money especially it you cook something that you’d need to have the oven on for a couple of hours anyway.

I used my last chicken carcass for my Slow Cooker Chicken Stock, which then went into my Slow Cooker Zingy Sweet Pork Fillet (you see, obsessed!) and Five-A-Day Vegetable Soup, so I need to replenish my supply as I’ll be out of chicken stock soon. I’ve made a few slow cooker chicken recipes lately (Tandoori Chicken and Roast Chicken) and I wanted to do something a bit different. I decided to cook the chicken in a tomato sauce. This is a super healthy one-pot recipe, packed with vegetables, and low-fat, as I removed the skin from the chicken before cooking it.

Ingredients:

Whole chicken – 3lb/1.5kg (skinned)

Olive oil – 1 tablespoon

Onions – 1 (finely chopped)

Garlic – 3 cloves (finely diced)

Mushrooms – 12oz/350g (quartered)

Tinned tomatoes – 400g can

Tomato puree – 2 tablespoons

Seasoning – salt, pepper, Italian seasoning, oregano, Worcester sauce.

Potatoes – 1-2 per person (peeled & cut into big chunks)

Carrots – 1lb/450g (peeled & cut into a few pieces)

Equipment: Slow cooker, chopping board, knife, frying pan, wooden spoon

Method:

  1. Heat the olive oil in the frying pan. Add the onions and soften.
  2. Add the garlic and mushroom and fry for a few minutes before adding the tinned tomatoes and puree.
  3. Stir well and season. Simmer on a medium heat for a few minutes.
  4. Set the crock-pot to high.
  5. Put the vegetables in the crock-pot and place the chicken (breast side down to it stays really moist).
  6. Pour over the sauce, cover with lid and cook on high for 4-5 hours, or low for 8-10 hours.

10 comments on “Slow Cooker Tomatoey Chicken Pot Roast

  1. Making me so hungry right now 🙂 looks so good. I have to try this recipe!

  2. I’m still unpacking our kitchen after a house move …. things that don’t require much attention are at the top of my list at the moment. This looks like a great idea and I have some dried Porcini mushrooms that should really go well in your recipe 🙂

  3. […] Lunch was 2 wholemeal pitta breads with a slice of ham and some blue cheese, toasted. Dinner was my Slow Cooker Tomatoey Chicken Pot Roast. I didn’t snack but I did have 2 Margaritas (the sugar substituted by sweetener). Calories […]

  4. […] my favourite way to cook a whole chicken as you know if you’ve seen some of my other posts (Tomatoey Chicken Pot Roast, Roast Chicken, and Tandoori Chicken). Again I removed all the skin, so it was low-fat, and cooked […]

  5. […] Slow Cooker Tomatoey Chicken Pot Roast (cookingwithcorinna.wordpress.com) […]

  6. […] Slow Cooker Tomatoey Chicken Pot Roast (cookingwithcorinna.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

