3 Comments

(Slightly Healthier) Turkey Schnitzel and Making Breadcrumbs with My Kenwood Chef Multi-Mill

So Saturday’s meal of sin was Turkey Schnitzel and homemade deep fried chips. This also gave me another opportunity to play with my Kenwood Chef, more specifically the Multi-Mill attachment, to make breadcrumbs. I had thought about using the food processor, but the multi-mill was at the front of the cupboard, and there’s a lot less to clean. Also, I thought I might have breadcrumbs left over (which I did) and the sealable glass jars make it so easy just to store any extra ingredients without having to find another container.

It took seconds to get perfect breadcrumbs, so much quicker and more effective than using a cheese grater (yes, that was my previous method of making breadcrumbs, which is why I only did it twice in 6 years!). I simply put the bread is the jar, fixed it on top of my Kenwood, and turned it to “pulse.” Perfect breadcrumbs in seconds! Make extra, they keep in the fridge for a week or so, or the freezer for longer.

To make the schnitzel ever so slightly healthier, and to make sure it cooked through properly without burning, I started it off in the frying pan to finish it I put it on a wire rack in the oven.

Ingredients:

Turkey breast steaks/escalopes – 6.5oz/185g per person

Seasoned flour – 2oz/55g

Egg – large (whisked)

Breadcrumbs – c.3oz/85g

Olive oil – 1-2 tablespoons

Equipment: Cling film, rolling pin/meat tenderizer, 3 bowls, frying pan, tongs, baking tray with wire rack

Method:

  1. If you have turkey steaks rather than escalopes put each steak between two pieces of cling film and bash out with a rolling pin or meat tenderizer until quite thin (about 1cm).
  2. Coat in the seasoned flour, egg, and then breadcrumbs and set aside.
  3. Heat on oil in the frying pan on high, until quite hot.
  4. Add the breaded escalopes (one at a time if they’re large, taking care not to overcrowd the pan), and fry on a high heat for two minutes each side.
  5. Place on the wire rack and put in a preheated oven (200°C/Fan 180°C/Gas 6) for 5 minutes or so, until cooked through.
3 comments on “(Slightly Healthier) Turkey Schnitzel and Making Breadcrumbs with My Kenwood Chef Multi-Mill

  1. […] to have a Saturday night meal without thinking about the calories for a while, so I decided to make turkey schnitzel (a slightly healthier version) and proper deep-fried chips! It was thoroughly delicious and […]

  2. Good post. Very helpful. Thanks for the info.

  3. […] people find my posts on my Kenwood Titanium Chef and the attachments (ice cream maker, blender, multi-mill, and food processor), helpful, for how to make the most of your kitchen gadgets and make preparing […]

Leave a Reply

