7 Comments

Diet Days 32-36 & Leftover Healthier Barbecue Pulled Pork Quesadillas

Over the last few days I’ve been eating a “normal” diet. I’ve been having high fibre cereals for breakfast, light lunches, and I’ve had some convenience food – I had a few ready meals in the freezer that needed eating and being quite busy on Thursday and Friday it was easy just to cook them from frozen. They were quite healthy options though, and not high cal or high fat (both evening meals were under 650 calories). I also had a few Margaritas. . . I did manage to make them a lower cal by substituting sweetener for sugar.

The main challenge of this weekend was to make the meals I love to eat healthier. So I made my usual pulled pork recipe lower calorie and fat by using pork fillet instead of pork shoulder to create Healthier Slow Cooker Pulled Pork in Barbecue Sauce.

I had plenty of leftover for Sunday night, so I decided to emulate a dish I have regularly at Chiquitos – Pulled Pork Quesadillas! Making takeaway/restaurant food at home is not only cheaper, it’s healthier too, because you know exactly what’s going into your food and how much you’re eating. I even used reduced fat cheddar!

This recipe served 2 generously with a bit left over, so could easily serve 3, 4 or more if served with rice or other dishes.

Ingredients:

Leftover Barbecue Sauce – c. 1 pint/570ml

Ketchup – to taste

Honey – to taste

Leftover Pulled Pork – c. 1lb/450g

Tortillas – 1½ per person if eaten alone

Cheddar cheese – c.3oz/85g (depending on how much you like)

Extras – I added jalapenos and mushrooms sauteed in a little water

Equipment: Oven-proof saucepan, spoon, frying pan

Method:

  1. Reheat the barbecue sauce until it starts to boil. Try a bit and see if it needs some/how much extra ketchup/honey.
  2. When it the right flavour (for your personal taste) add pork and stir in well.
  3. Cover and cook in a preheated oven (190°/Fan 170°/Gas 5) for 20 minutes or until the pork is throughly reheated and falling apart.
  4. Spoon some of the mixture on to half the tortilla. Top with desired extras and cheese.
  5. Fold and place into a medium-hot frying pan cheese-side down.
  6. Cook on each side until tortilla is cooked to your liking.

So even with all the eating, drinking, and being merry I didn’t consume over 1500 calories a day, and on most days had considerably less, not bad!

I’ve been good today too, orange juice and more high fibre cereal for breakfast, tomato soup, a babybel light, and whole meal bread for lunch, and a turkey stir fry with wholegrain rice for dinner. My only downfall was a rolo cookie. I didn’t buy it, but it sat on the kitchen counter looking at me and I couldn’t resist. Calories – 1250

7 comments on “Diet Days 32-36 & Leftover Healthier Barbecue Pulled Pork Quesadillas

  1. Good for you, I hope it goes as well as it has been! These quesadillas look amazing. In Toronto I can get the small 6″ tortillas in while grains with flax! I love them because you can’t stuff them too full and they are higher in fibre.
    My dr suggested having the high fibre cereal with water instead of milk or yogurt as the dairy contains quite a lot of sugar, and sugar actually counter acts the fibre. Go figure. I take calcium supplements.

    • I intended to buy wholemeal tortillas but the supermarket was out. I don’t think I could cope with just having water with cereal, but I use lactofree milk anyway so it’s lower in sugar than regular milk.

      • That’s a great idea, Corinna, I never thought to look at the nutrition of lactofree milk. Sugars are as bad for losing weight as some fats, because the sugars actually hinder your metabolism to break down the fats (at least that is what I was told). Keep up the great job!

  2. Whole not while!

  3. Great stuff! Could you taste the difference in the margaritas when you substituted sweetener for sugar?

Leave a Reply

