2 Comments

Birthday Cake!

What do you do when you need a birthday cake in a hurry? Well, when you’ve just become the proud owner of a Kenwood Chef you make one! 

This recipe is basically my Victoria sandwich with jam, buttercream, and icing. I must admit, as I was in a rush (I needed to make the cake in under 3 hours), I’ve never made icing before, and I didn’t have all the ingredients for it, I did use ready roll. I promise I will attempt to make it from scratch soon!

Ingredients:

Unsalted Butter – 4oz/115g (softened)

Golden castor sugar – 4oz/115g

Eggs – 2 medium

Self-raising flour – 4oz/115g

Baking powder – 1 teaspoon

Vanilla extract – 2 teaspoon

Raspberry  jam – a couple of tablespoons (pass it through a sieve if it’s not seedless)

Unsalted butter – 2oz/55g

Icing sugar – 3oz/85g

Honey – 2 teaspoons

Ready roll icing – I’m not sure how much I used, they usually say on the box how much they will cover.

Equipment: Stand mixer (or a bowl and hand mixer) with K-beater attachment, spatula, 2x 7 inch sandwich tins (greased with a little butter), rolling pin

Method:

  1. Preheat oven at 160°C/Fan 150°C/Gas 3.
  2. Add the sugar and butter to the mixing bowl and using the K beater cream the mixture, starting on minimum and increasing until the mixture is pale and fluffy.
  3. Add the eggs and beat in for a couple of seconds before adding the flour, baking powder and half the vanilla extract. Beat agin until the mixture is light and airy. You may need to scrape down the sides from time to time.
  4. Divide into the greased tins and bake on the middle shelf for 15-20 minutes until the top is firm to the touch.
  5. Remove from the oven and turn out onto a wire rack to cool.
  6. Meanwhile, clean the mixer bowl and attachment. Add the butter to the mixer and beat, gradually increasing the speed until paler and light.
  7. Gradually beat in the icing sugar and add the rest of the vanilla extract.
  8. Spread jam on one cake, spread the buttercream on the other cake and place it on top  (bottom side up for a nice flat top).
  9. Follow the instructions on the packet for the icing. The pack I got advised to knead the icing first to make it easier to roll, and to roll on a surface dusted with icing sugar. I rolled it out to the desired thickness, brushed the top of the cake with honey to help it stick (the box said melted apricot jam but I didn’t have any) covered the cake. I also cut butterfly shapes out of the excess and used a bit more honey to stick them on top.
2 comments on “Birthday Cake!

  1. Can you make those butterflies blue? thank you for liking my blog post. I look forward to reading your blog.

    • If you make the icing yourself you can just add food colouring to make it any colour you want. I’m not sure if you can colour ready-made, but I’m sure you can buy different colours. I’ve not done much cake decorating yet (apart from cupcakes) so I’m not very familiar with all the different products and techniques.

Leave a Reply

