3 Comments

The Ultimate Burger II

The weather at the weekend was glorious, so we decided to have a little barbecue. The Ultimate Burgers I made a couple of weeks ago were delicious, but I thought I’d try something a bit different this time.

The major difference between this and the other burger recipe is the absence of onions. I could lie and tell you this was completely intentional, but it wasn’t. I totally forgot about the onions until I’d already shaped the burgers. They turned out to be really tasty well anyway, and not having to chop, fry, and wait for the onions to cool made this recipe even quicker and easier to make.

I also decided to be more careful about shaping these burgers too, so instead of just using my hands I used my 4”/10cm diameter pastry cutter. This does sound quite large but the diameter of the burgers shrink, but theydo get thicker. Place the cutter on a plate (straight side down if they’re half fluted) add a ball-shaped quantity of the mince, and flatten down with the back of your fingers. Use your fingertips to push right up to the edges. Then simply take off the pastry cutter and put the burger on another plate.

I can’t take the credit for the cooking of these burgers, as in most households, as soon as the word barbecue is mentioned my boyfriend suddenly wants to become very involved in the cooking process! Luckily he is really very good at barbecue cooking, so I handed over my burgers without any worries that they’d come back completely charred on the outside but raw in the middle. While he cooked I sat back, relaxed, and had a Margarita!

Best served in my Burger Buns, though I divided this batch into 10 rather than the usual 12. As I only made 4 burgers this left me extra for sandwiches over the next few days. I store them in a freezer bag and they keep really well for 2-3 days.

Ingredients:

Beef mince – 1lb/500g

Egg – 1 medium

Ketchup – 1 tablespoon

BBQ sauce – 1 tablespoon (I used HP spicy hot woodsmoke flavour)

Worcestershire sauce – 1 tablespoon

Soy sauce – ½ tablespoon

Smoked paprika – ½ teaspoon

White pepper – ½ teaspoon

Oregano – ½ teaspoon

Thyme – ½ teaspoon

Salt – ½ teaspoon

Equipment: Mixing bowl, fork, knife, pastry cutter, 2 plates, barbecue

Method:

  1. Break the egg into the mixing bowl and whisk with the fork.
  2. Add the ketchup, BBQ sauce, Worcestershire sauce, soy sauce, smoked paprika, pepper, herbs and salt and mix well.
  3. Add the mince and combine with the other ingredients (best done with your hands).
  4. Turn out onto a plate and form into a rounded shape.
  5. Cut into 4 with a knife, roll into balls.
  6. Place the cutter on another plate and add the balls of mince.
  7. Flatten down with the back of your fingers. Use your fingertips to push right up to the edges. Take off the pastry cutter and put on another plate.
  8. Place on a plate, cover with cling film and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes or until needed.
  9. Cook on a hot barbecue for 8-10 minutes each side, or until just cooked through.
3 comments on “The Ultimate Burger II

  1. […] were having friends over for a barbecue and I was planning on making my Ultimate Burger II. As I was making a bigger batch than usual I decided to enlist the help of my Kenwood Titanium Chef […]

  2. […] completely off. We were going to a BBQ with friends (we contributed some of my Ultimate Burgers and Ultimate Burgers II) and I couldn’t be bothered to even try to calorie count or watch what I was eating or […]

Leave a Reply

