5 Comments

Slow Cooker Tandoori Chicken

I made Tandoori Chicken the other week just using a ready bought powder. Now I had a Kenwood Multi-Mill I wanted an excuse to use it so I decided to make my own tandoori marinade from scratch. Since I’ve been on my diet I haven’t used my slow cooker much, and I didn’t want it to start feeling neglected or left out now the Kenwood had arrived, so I decided to cook the chicken in that as a sort of pot roast.

The results were excellent on all counts. The multi-mill made a smooth marinade paste in minutes, and the slow cooker kept the chicken lovely, moist and falling off the bone. I had it set on high, and it cooked a large (4½lb/2kg) chicken in 4 hours.

If you don’t have a multi-mill you could use a blender/food processor, or a pestle and mortar.

Ingredients:

Large skinless chicken - 4½lb/2kg (check your manufacturer’s handbook for the maximum size for your machine)

Tomatoey Curry Sacue – 1 portion (optional)

Lemon juice – yield from 2 lemons

Fresh ginger – 1 thumb length (peeled & cut into chunks)

Garlic – 6 cloves (peeled & halved)

Coriander seeds – 1 tablepoon

Cumin Seeds – 1 tablespoon

Black pappercorns – 6

Paprika – 2 teaspoons

Yogurt – 4-6 tablespoons

Equipment: Large bowl/plastic container, knife, Kenwood Chef with Multi-Mill, spoon

Method:

  1. Place the chicken into a large container, and make long slits down the breast, thighs and legs.
  2. Pour over the juice of half a lemon and refrigerate until marinade is ready.
  3. Put the juice of 1 lemon, garlic, ginger, coriander, cumin, and peppercorns into the multi-mill and blitz or 1 minute.
  4. Add the paprika and 2 tablespoons of yoghurt and blitz until smooth.
  5. Stir in the rest of the lemon juice and yoghurt.
  6. Coat the chicken well with the marinade. Cover and refrigerate for 4-24 hours.
  7. When the chicken is ready to cook set slow cooker to high.
  8. Pour the curry sauce into the crock-pot (you can reheat it first to speed up the process).
  9. Add the chicken, cover and cook on high for 4-5 hours or low for 8-10 hours.
5 comments on “Slow Cooker Tandoori Chicken

  1. This tandoori chicken recipe little bit difference than the usual that do…. Going to try this weekend, must taste delicious…

  2. [...] I’ll be out of chicken stock soon. I’ve made a few slow cooker chicken recipes lately (Tandoori Chicken and Roast Chicken) and I wanted to do something a bit different. I decided to cook the chicken in a [...]

  3. [...] know if you’ve seen some of my other posts (Tomatoey Chicken Pot Roast, Roast Chicken, and Tandoori Chicken). Again I removed all the skin, so it was low-fat, and cooked the chicken breast-side down, to keep [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 815 other followers

